FTA Firearms comes across as being more worried about revenue than anything else, which had led to them being hammered on their Facebook page.
The requirements for such a course in NC are eight hours of classroom education on the applicable laws and talking through possible scenarios, followed by 50 total rounds fired on a square range at 3, 5, and 7 yards on static targets to prove a very minimal level of firearms proficiency.
An FTA Firearms concealed carry instructor named Larry Wegman recently went to WRAL-TV, one of the most influential local network news outlets in the state, and helped them compose a story on the “dangers” of North Carolina residents bypassing the $125(!) course that his company teaches in favor of paying $20 and spending less than half an hour to obtain a similar certification in Virginia.
People who pass the online Virginia course can then go through the steps required to get a concealed carry permit in Virginia, and then carry concealed in North Carolina thanks to North Carolina’s reciprocity with Virginia.
The process to get a permit to carry a concealed weapon in North Carolina is pretty simple.
By law, applicants must take a handgun safety course, complete an application, pay a fee, have their fingerprints on file and allow the local sheriff’s office to check into their mental health record.
North Carolina has reciprocity with 36 other states, meaning concealed carry permits issued by the Tar Heel State are recognized in those states and vice versa. But not all those states have the same requirements.