Both firearms retailers and gun owners may soon have to contend with a myriad of minor changes to state laws in New Jersey ranging from shotgun reclassification to records inspections and other mandates.
As reported by NJ.com, the Garden State’s 377 firearms dealers and manufacturers could see a host of new hoops to jump through to stay in business. Among the proposed changes would be a requirement to report guns lost within 24 hours, forcing both gun shop owners and employees to get retail licenses, and make their records open to inspection by the state police. These moves are classified as being needed to address instances of thefts and missing guns in recent years.
State Police Superintendent Col. Joseph Fuente authorized the 11 pages of proposed rule changes with the approval of acting Attorney General John J. Hoffman.
“From 2012 to the present time, there have been six reported incidents of thefts and/or lost firearms from retail dealers,” reads the proposal. “It is critical and in the best interest of public safety, health, and welfare that retail and wholesale dealers and manufacturers of firearms be held to the highest standards of security to prohibit the possibility of a firearm being used in the commission of a violent crime.”
Besides making their records available to the state police during business hours for inspection, New Jersey gun dealers would have to immediately notify authorities if their alarm system is not working, not store firearms off site without prior approval of the state, and have store employees obtain retail licenses for each location they work at, even for temporary transfers. In addition, the currently mandated 48-hour reporting period for guns discovered lost or stolen would be halved to 24.